Ahead of the beginning of the knock out round of the Champions League, Danny Welbeck and Per Mertesacker have both been included in the squad while Carl Jenkinson has been excluded.

Welbeck and Mertesacker have both just returned to the squad after being out for a long time due to injury. Both players were in the Arsenal team that defeated Southampton in the FA Cup last Saturday even though Mertesacker didn’t feature at all.

Carl Jenkinson, who has featured twice in the Champions League this season has however been withdrawn. The player has struggled for form and confidence after recovering from the injury he sustained when he was on loan at West Ham.

There were indications he would move on in the January Transfer Window, but the deal collapsed because of disagreement over personal terms.

The revised Arsenal Champions League Squad include:

2. Mathieu Debuchy 3. Kieran Gibbs, 4. Per Mertesacker, 5. Gabriel, 6. Laurent Koscielny, 7. Alexis Sánchez, 8. Aaron Ramsey, 9. Lucas Pérez, 11. Mesut Özil, 12. Olivier Giroud, 13. David Ospina, 14. Theo Walcott, 15. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, 16. Rob Holding, 17. Alex Iwobi*, 18. Nacho Monreal, 19. Santi Cazorla, 20. Shkodran Mustafi, 22. Yaya Sanogo, 23. Danny Welbeck, 24. Héctor Bellerín*, 26. Emiliano Martínez, 29. Granit Xhaka, 31. Jeff Reine-Adélaïde, 33. Petr Čech, 34. Francis Coquelin, 35. Mohamed Elneny, 39. Tolaji Bola*, 42. Kristopher Da Graca*, 43. Josh Dasilva*, 46. Charlie Gilmour*, 49. Ryan Huddart*, 50. Deyan Iliev*, 51. Chiori Johnson*, 53. Hugo Keto*, 55. Ainsley Maitland-Niles*, 58. Marcus McGuane*, 60. Savvas Mourgos*, 65. Ben Sheaf*, 68. Chris Willock*, 72. Reiss Nelson*, 73. Eddie Nketiah*.

*= B-List

(squad list via Jeorge Bird’s Arsenal Youth)

The Champions League returns on February 14.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here